Acting Director

Awadhendra Sharan is currently the Acting Director of CSDS. Trained as a historian, Sharan’s research interests are in the fields of urban and environmental studies. His most recent publication is Dust and Smoke: Air Pollution and Colonial Urbanism, India c.1860- c.1940 (Orient BlackSwan, 2020). Click for Detailed Profile.

Earlier Directors of CSDS include Sanjay Kumar (2013-19), Rajeev Bhargava (2007-13), Suresh Sharma (2004-07), R.K. Srivastava (2003-04), V.B. Singh (1997-2002), Ashis Nandy (1992-97), Giri Deshingkar (1987-92), D.L. Sheth (1984-87), Bashiruddin Ahmed (1981-84), Ramashray Roy (1976-81), Rajni Kothari (1970-76), Gopal Krishna (1969-70) and Rajni Kothari (1963-69).

Email: director(at)