Sanjay Kumar is currently the Director of CSDS. He succeeds Rajeev Bhargava who served as the director between 2007-2013. Trained in survey research, his research focuses largely on the issues of Electoral Politics, Political Mobilisation, Indian Democracy and issues concerning Indian Youth. (Click for Details).

The earlier directors of CSDS have been Suresh Sharma (2004-07), R.K. Srivastava (2003-04), V.B. Singh (1997-02), Ashis Nandy (1992-97), Giri Deshingkar (1987-92), D.L. Sheth (1984-87), Bashiruddin Ahmed (1981-84), Ramashray Roy (1976-81), Rajni Kothari (1970-76), Gopal Krishna (1969-70) and Rajni Kothari (1963-69).

Email: director(at)